NCCVE Board of Directors & Staff

Members of the board of directors of the N.C. Center for Voter Education:

David Beck

David Beck serves as current president of the N.C. Center for Voter Education.

David Beck, president
Mary Morgan, vice president
Elaine Whitford, treasurer

C. Elizabeth Dove
Michael Flatow
Dr. Jarvis Hall
John Holdsclaw IV
Hon. Grier Martin
Karen Oelschlaeger
Devon White

Former U.S. Senator Robert Morgan, president emeritus




Staff of the N.C. Center for Voter Education:

Brent Laurenz

Brent Laurenz serves as executive director of the N.C. Center for Voter Education.

Brent Laurenz, executive director

Brent Laurenz joined the Center as director of outreach in 2010. Prior to that, he worked in policy and government relations for the Civil War Trust, a nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation of our nation’s endangered Civil War battlefields. He received a bachelor's degree from Virginia Tech and a master's degree in political management from George Washington University.

In addition to his work at the Center, Brent also serves on the Board of Directors for the Young Nonprofit Professionals Network of the Triangle and the Wake County Historic Preservation Commission.

Bryan Warner, director of communications

Bryan Warner oversees the Center's broadcast, print and online communications, serving as general manager of, editor of The Voter Update magazine and project manager for the Center's print and online voter guides. He earned a bachelor's degree in communication and Spanish from Western Carolina University and an associate degree in Web technologies from Wake Technical Community College.